Array
    Status
    Winston Salem North Carolina
    Vehicle

1989 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

Please Select Your Engine Type

Absolute Noob Engine Questions

Hello! I've been trying to do research but still don't know a lot. Have never rebuilt an engine before but I kind of want to try. If yall recommend against it, maybe ill take it to my mechanic to rebuild it.

here is my dilemma: I've been calling around everywhere to find an engine for my 1989 mighty max, nobody has one, i've looked into possibly rebuilding it as it only spun a bearing but idk if the thing is cracked or not, nor do i kno exactly how to figure that out (do i just need to take the whole engine out and inspect it?).

The bearing spun when i was goin about 70 and i pulled over and it was making a clanking noise. was able to drive it about a mile back home from the mechanic at very low speeds but don't know if it could still be cracked.

I found a 1989 model on facebook marketplace recently but the engine in it has upwards of 230k miles which sounds like a lot (also has a new weber carburetor in it which i want). I was wondering if i could take the parts that i would need to rebuild my engine from that engine as mine has fewer miles and would hopefully last longer, OR! is there a kit i could buy online that would be more beneficial?

I appreciate yalls answers

Array
    Status
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

4G64