Array
    Status
    Metro Atlanta, Ga
    Vehicle

1995 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

4G64

Mighty max performance options

First I’m sorry I’m making another on of *these* posts. I’ve lurked for a while and learned a lot so I made an account to figure out my options. I have owned 2 mighty Max’s in the past both with the 4g64 but something broke on them and I wasn’t in a position the hold onto them and fix but now that I have the option I’m looking at getting another one as a project. In my state you aren’t required to do any emissions testing after 25 years so hows my time to shine with a MM. I’m wanting one as a track toy but can still be used on the road. I’m not trying to set top lap times but just have fun in the thing. I’m not wanting to try and turbo anything as I’m a novice at this stuff but as simple as the trucks are I feel I can tinker with it without getting in to deep. I’m leaning more towards the 2.4 but do the 6 cyl have any major advantages? I’m figuring I start with wider tires and maybe changing the rear end gearing for more get up and go. Outside of that I’m not sure what I can do. I’ve read there’s no point in switching to the dohc since I’m keeping it NA. Also not sure if I missed it or there isn’t one but is there a classified section to by trucks on here? Craigslist seems kind of dry in my area.

Array
    Status
    New Zealand
    Vehicle

1981 Mitsubishi L200
    Engine

Other
    What kind of racing do you want to do? Track, gymkhana?

There's not a ton of available bolt on performance minded parts around, but you can make do. Are you able to fabricate parts?

Tuning NA is relatively high $/hp compared to slapping a turbo on (pretty sure turbo manifolds are available on eBay)
    NA
    Agressive camshaft, valve job, valve springs, headers, freeflow exhaust, Webber carb. That would be a tried and tested easy enough level of mods.

Good shocks and nolothane bushes, then front and rear sway bars.
    15" wheels, good tyres