Thread: My 87 Ram50 drive it as I build it thread .

Array
    Status
    Albuquerque NM
    Vehicle

1987 Dodge Ram 50
    Engine

G54B

My 87 Ram50 drive it as I build it thread .

Hello folks .
    Hope this is in the right place .
    This is my thread about my truck . 1987 Ram50 130,000 miles , 2.6 5spd . It will be part build log and part help thread as I'm a noob about these Japanese based vehicles .

So far the previous owner did the following before trading it to me - new gasket kit and timing belt in 2.6 motor ( think it's all done right ) , thermostat , belts/hoses , dropped spindles and lowering block kit .

Since I got the truck , I've rebuilt the mukini carb , checked all bolt torques on engine , changed all fluids/filters , checked the mile of vacuum hoses , drained the fuel system , cleaned gas tank out , checked the fuel lines , replaced/upgraded fuel filter , compression tested cylinders , traced down a short in the reverse indicator lights , snagged a pair of bucket seats for it , adjusted the clutch ( will be adding a slave cylinder ) , went through the brakes ( needed adjustment and bleeding ) , checked the pumkin aka differential , even checked the wheel bearings , then I got to the important thing ----- I put a snazzy shifter knob on .
    It's now insured , registered , and on the road as my daily . I will be doing a custom build as $$$ is found ( checking couch for change as I type .

Body is a wee bit rough , needs windshield , and my wish list is growing fast
    It runs great , passed smog with flying colors and , is a blast to drive !!!

Regardless , I'm really loving this little truck !

IMG_6104.jpgIMG_6105.jpgIMG_6106.jpg00R0R_aMjHStrVX9B_600x450.jpg01212_gpjLSlQYZaD_600x450.jpg

Array
    Status
    Albuquerque NM
    Vehicle

1987 Dodge Ram 50
    Engine

G54B
    My immediate plans are -
    Windshield
    Header
    Make a manifold so I can mount bike carbs