Array
    Status
    Wichita Falls, Texas
    Vehicle

1991 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

4G64

Missing stereo ignition wire? Pic included

Hey guys finally getting around to installing my stereo and I've ran into a problem. I don't have a solid blue wire all the blue wires have stripes through them. I also have a wire that isn't mentioned on the page with all the connections is the large black wire that wasn't connected to anything and isn't the same type of wire as the others could someone tell me what that's about? Sorry for my ignorance this is my first time doing any of this
    Attached Images

Array
    Status
    Wichita Falls, Texas
    Vehicle

Engine

4G64
    Is the black one the antenna? I wasn't really ever to pick up a signal.

Array
    Status
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle

1992 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

6G72
    The thick black one looks like an antenna wire with the end cut off. It'd probably just be easier to get a new antenna wire from a junked truck or car than it would be to find and install a new antenna connector.

If you're thinking the solid blue wire is for switched ignition power, then you're on the right track. It's solid blue coming out of the ignition switch, but turns into blue with a white stripe where it connects to the dashboard harness. Don't confuse it with white/blue stripe though. That one is for one of the speakers.

Array
    Status
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Vehicle

1985 Mitsubishi L200
    Engine

G63B
    Buy a cheap pocket multi meter. It will become your best bud. +1 with JeffV - the thick black cable is the antenna and some tool has cut off the banana clip end. You should be getting constant voltage in the red/black stripe wire (this is your permanent power/memory wire) All aftermarket stereos have a yellow wire for this function so it looks like they got this part right. Green/white stripe is backlight illumination.

Array
    Status
    Wichita Falls, Texas
    Vehicle

Engine

4G64