Thread: What are the best aftermarket part brands?

Array
    Status
    redding, ca
    Vehicle

1995 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

4G64

What are the best aftermarket part brands?

I am new to DIY auto maintenance and this new truck of mine seems like a great vehicle to learn on. I am really excited about this forum and how quickly people respond! Anyway... for starters... I feel completely confused by all of the dozens of choices when selecting aftermarket parts. Are the parts that are expensive really that much better? I am sure this thread will cause some debate but, it would be interesting to hear everyone's opinion. Or should I just stick to the OEM parts on mitsubishipartswherehouse? Thanks all!

Array
    Status
    Maurertown, Virginia
    Vehicle

1990 Dodge D-50
    Engine

4G64
    Quote Originally Posted by new95max View Post
    I am sure this thread will cause some debate but, it would be interesting to hear everyone's opinion.
    Although debate sometimes can cause hurt feelings, temporarily, the different views are a very positive process: they help us make good choices.

My own experience is with Advanced, NAPA and RockAuto.com . I have had very good luck with all three, but RockAuto really takes the lead when it comes to replacement parts. As well, we have Mike Warme and others, here on the forum, who are very efficient at getting good parts to members.

As to expense: not in every case are the most expensive parts your best bet, but many times they can be beneficial. For example, I bought the more expensive head gasket set, and found gaskets/fittings that the less expensive kits don't offer.

It's an excellent idea for a thread and I, too, am eager to hear from the rest of the crew.

royster
    The greatest gift you have to give to the world is that of your own self~transformation.

Array
    Status
    Washington State
    Vehicle

1986 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

G63B