Array
    Status
    Kingsport, TN
    Vehicle

1989 Dodge Ram 50
    Engine

G63B

89 Ram 50 Convertible

Hello all, I just inherited from my late uncle his 89 Ram 50 Convertible. It's a 2.0L G63B 5 speed. He's had it for a long time but only put 78k miles on it. He had stopped driving it sometime around 2006 and it has just sat first in his driveway then garage (thank god he finally got it sheltered). It's time outside lead the vinyl top to fall apart so I'll have to find somewhere to get that remade. He was also rear-ended sometime in the late 90's so the back is dented in a bit and I have no clue what he did with the ground effects that was on it. Otherwise its in pretty good shape with only a bit of wear and tear to clean up. The engine still cranks but won't fire so it seems the fuel system is clogged so that will be my first big fix. Fires right up with some ether in the carb though. This is my first time restoring a car/truck so I look forward to the adventure of it. I'll try and post pictures along the way.

Ram50-Day1.jpg
    Not many convertible trucks around so I can't wait to get it up and cruising around town!

Array
    Status
    Washington State
    Vehicle

1986 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

G63B
    Welcome to the forum!

If that truck sat that long it might be a good idea to drop some oil in cylinders before starting. Things get pretty dry after long sits. Fuel sucks, oils sucks, antifreeze sucks. Just can't walk up and hope she cranks up.
    If he hasn't changed a timing belt and oil pump belt, you better change it. Run a compression test, adjust valves if they can be. Maybe run some seafoam for the first tank. Do some grease gun action and over all just change all the fluids in it. Trany, rear-end, etc. Be gentle to her if she has been asleep a long time.
    You have a good truck if you take care of it and last a long time. Be careful driving too, that first month or so to get use to it will be a good idea.