Thread: Newbie Here and I have a question about Power Steering?

Hybrid View

Array
    Status
    Southern Alberta
    Vehicle

1981 Dodge D-50
    Engine

I.D.K.?

Question Newbie Here and I have a question about Power Steering?

Hello All!
    I am new here and I am going to be picking up a 1981 D-50 (2wd) tomorrow. It will be my daily driver, and it currently does not have power steering which is not a super big deal but I would really enjoy having power steering. I was wondering if anybody could help me with converting it to power steering. What boxes will work? what pumps would I be able to use?

Thanks,
    LowBudget

Array
    Status
    Washington State
    Vehicle

1986 Mitsubishi Mighty Max
    Engine

G63B
    You come to the right spot, hang in there until the Gurus stop in that have mastered that update. Shouldn't be more then a 24 hour period. Meanwhile if you want to get familiar with the parts, check out our free manuals pages and grab yourself a manual. Might be able to solve your questions with those.

Welcome to the forum, Enjoy!

Array
    Status
    Southern Alberta
    Vehicle

1981 Dodge D-50
    Engine

I.D.K.?
    Quote Originally Posted by BradMph View Post
    You come to the right spot, hang in there until the Gurus stop in that have mastered that update. Shouldn't be more then a 24 hour period. Meanwhile if you want to get familiar with the parts, check out our free manuals pages and grab yourself a manual. Might be able to solve your questions with those.

Welcome to the forum, Enjoy!
    Thank you!
    and as I was driving my truck home from where I bough it at, I noticed that it had a massive back firing problem, and it smokes pretty good on the highway when cruising. pretty gutless. But my god, with the manual steering, and a shifter that falls off it is a riot to drive. Once I get Power steering I am probably gonna swap the motor and maybe go to a 5-speed.

Array
    Status
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Vehicle

1981 Dodge D-50