Array
    Status
    Waynesboro, PA
    Vehicle

1987 Dodge Power Ram 50
    Engine

G54B

The Resurrection of Ol' Dirty Blue...My Build Thread

Well I have been a member of this site for over two years now and have yet to post a build thread; and I know you all like pictures. So I figured is was about time to put it all in writing (as much as I can remember and have documented).

The brief back story on the truck can be found in my introduction post:In Memorial No need to repeat this information.

Since I am no mechanic (or at least wasn't 2 years ago), this is has been a learning experience. Most of the initial work that I did was more cosmetic. However as the years went by I went deeper into the engine to fix more and more issues as they arose.

First set of images are from the first year, in a rented tiny garage. This is the way Ol' Dirty Blue looked when she first came to me.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0790.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	74.7 KB 
ID:	7303Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0791.jpg 
Views:	96 
Size:	60.0 KB 
ID:	7304Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0792.jpg 
Views:	133 
Size:	85.4 KB 
ID:	7305

After adjusting some timing issues, she still wasn't running right. So I elected to remove the Mikuni Carb since calibrating these can be tricky and opted for the Weber 32/36 DFEV conversion.

Name:	100_0793.jpg 
Views:	1232 
Size:	94.6 KB 
ID:	7306

Now that she was able to start up and run; though she smoked abit (burning oil). I decided to hold off on tackling the leaks in favor of more cosmetic changes.

Name:	100_0801.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	66.1 KB 
ID:	7307Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0805.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	79.2 KB 
ID:	7308Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0812.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	7309

Then came the gasket replacements and fan upgrade.

Name:	100_0802.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	99.4 KB 
ID:	7310Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0803.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	98.3 KB