PDA

View Full Version : Failed Emissions

Ramshorn
03-16-2015, 07:15 PM
I took the truck into emissions testing and it failed due to high HC GPM & CO GPM. This didn't surprise me as the truck was sitting for years before I picked it up a month ago. I put a new weber 32/36 on her and she's running great now but apparently not clean enough for CO. Here are my numbers:

HC GPM = 3.7392 (limit is 3)
CO GPM = 62.6656 (limit is 25)

This is my first time having to go through emissions, and if anyone has any advice on how to tune this to get these numbers down that would be greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind I just put a new weber 32/36 on with a fuel pressure reg., otherwise everything is stock.

Thanks!

noahwins
03-16-2015, 07:31 PM
Running rich. No idea how altitude effect tuning though. Got extra jets? Are the pulse air pump and EGR working?

Ramshorn
03-17-2015, 06:59 AM
Running rich. No idea how altitude effect tuning though. Got extra jets? Are the pulse air pump and EGR working?

Yeah, I ordered the extra jets for altitude and they have not been installed yet bc the truck was running great with the stock jets. My first step will be to instal those but I just wasn't sure if it will require additional tuning beyond that. Not wild about taking it in to a shop to have them tune it, but I also don't want to make a dozen trips to emissions, ya know what I mean.

EGR appears to be working properly. Not sure what/where the pulse air pump is though?

Thanks for you input!

noahwins
03-17-2015, 08:53 AM
Pulse air is the snake pipe running to the exhaust manifold from the air cleaner. It's a weird shape because it's tuned length. The exhaust pulses suck cold, clean air from the air cleaner and inject them into the exhaust stream to help burn any unburned hydrocarbon. I just remembered if you have the Weber, this device is most likely deleted from your emissions system.

There are 2 spare vac line nipples on the Weber carb for devices like the EGR valve.