PDA

View Full Version : Looking for the perfect swap 4x4 4g63

Sk88flip
08-14-2014, 01:53 PM
Hello!

I am new the the MMD5 community, but I have been messing with DSMs for about 12 years now. I have done just about every type of 4g6# build (2.0, 2.4, 2.1 destroked/10.5:1), all for eclipse/talon/laser platforms. A few years back I moved to Denver and have decided it's time to build a light truck for some off roading and winter adventure. I have done some looking around on projectzerogs page and searched through a few threads on this forum and I have a pretty good idea of whats required. I would consider my skill level medium to advanced in terms of fabrication/enginebuilding/wiring, so I am comfortable taking on this project.

I plan on taking my time with this, no need for the truck to be done right away. Because time is on my side I would like to find the "perfect" truck for the swap, based on what I want out of it.

What I'm looking for:

-youngest model avalible that meets my critiria 94-96?
-4x4 manual trans
-extended cab, macrocab?
-narrow block, I plan on using a 6bolt 4g36 long block

I do not know what years fit this discription. Some of the information I have come across said there isnt a 4x4 narrow block, some says there is but only in certain years. Also, the macrocab is a must, and I have been having some trouble tracking down what years the US got the macrocab. So, if you know what year/trim I should be looking for please let me know. Also, I am thinking about using a cyclone 8 runner intake manifold to pick up a bit of lowend grunt, has anyone done this? fitment issues?

thanks in advance!

-mike

pennyman1
08-15-2014, 06:33 PM