PDA

View Full Version : 1984 D50 Carb help/Q's

CowBoyRoy81
07-03-2014, 02:26 PM
Hello,

New to the site and Might Max/D50's. But I have some questions in regards to the carburetor that I was hoping someone on here who's knowledgeable with these factory carbs can help me with.

Background: Original/Stock 1984-D50-G63-Manual-2wd-80k miles I bought off my grandpa for $100 a few years back. She's sat for 10-12 years so I immediately changed fluids, filters, plugs, wires etc etc. Got her tag'd and registered and insured. Drove about 500 miles since road worthy again. My background is 10 years as a diesel mechanic in the Army, grew up Mopar or No Car and know Carter/Edlebrocks and Holley's inside and out. Currently a service writer for the local Cat dealer. I state this because I'd appreciate if the trolls and bench racers didn’t' chime in with smart ass remarks. I'd rather not just slap a new carb on it. I'm sure it's a minor issue just looking for guidance in unfamiliar territory. If I can save a little $$ by doing myself and gain some knowledge then that's what I'm going to do. Truck will be/is daily driver when not riding motorcycle or winter 4x4 is needed. I did search the forum and the net and asked around work but these carbs seem to be alien to most people.

Issue: The carb has what I call a "flat spot". It's right around where you'd have the RPM's to engage the clutch. To get going you simply over rev a little bit and the issue is gone. While driving at speed or down shifting the problem is minimal. The temp of the engine and ambient temperature do effect it but not in the manner of it being a choke problem. That works fine it's just harder to push through that "flat spot" when the engine is cold which means higher RPM's to shift. The mechanical fuel pump did go out a couple years back and that's when it really got parked by my dad. I slapped an electric fuel pump on it and she's working great....except this "flat spot", which I feel like it's leaning out.