PDA

View Full Version : Original 1984 D50 w/G63 Carb Q's

CowBoyRoy81
07-03-2014, 12:55 PM
Hello,

New to the forum and the world of Might Max/D50's. I paid $100 for my grandpa's 1984 D50 (G63/manual)which is at about 80k miles and all original. I was a diesel mechanic for 10 years in the Army and grew up Mopar or No Car for background information, currently service writer at the local Cat dealer. I know Carters/Edlebrocks and Holley's inside and out but this 80's Japanese/Mitsubishi technology scares me. So before I dive into it I was going to pick brains. I am familiar with forums so will state/request some things below:

1. I conducted a site search and found nothing relating to my issue except the cigar smoke trick-which I'll try first.
2. I'm an honest guy hoping for honest help and answers, not smart ass remarks by trolls and bench racers.
3. Prior to this point it sat 10 years but I've replaced all oils, filters, plugs, wires, fuel etc etc. Fuel pump went out so I plugged manual and installed inline electric.
4. I have put on appx 500 miles since getting it tuned and on the road. No issues at all.
5. When not motorcycle weather but 4x4 isn't needed this will be my daily driver. So nothing crazy will be going to this truck except proper maintenance and easy driving any maybe solo camping trips when I don't wanna take the diesel/family.
6. New/reman'd carb is not the answer I'm looking for. Due to the issue desribed below I don't believe it's a $300 fix. I don't like to throw money at issues when I can do it and learn at the same time. Not cheap at all, but a hands-on type of guy ya know?