PDA

View Full Version : California smog analysis, ask a smog tech

noahwins
10-25-2013, 05:58 AM
Hi everyone, I'm a STAR certified smog tech in California. If you're having trouble passing emissions, have questions about emissions equipment or anything else related to smog, let me know!

camoit
10-25-2013, 07:55 PM
I have one. Will California ever do the rolling end of smog year. They started to do it way back in the 90's then stopped. I was hopping my Camo truck would be exempt but they stopped the 25 year roll back just before my 25th year. :(

noahwins
10-28-2013, 01:15 PM
I doubt it. Gov. Arnold stopped the rolling exemption during the 2003 budget crisis to keep one revenue stream open and it's been stuck at 1976 ever since. California wants to get old cars off the road to meet their air pollution reduction goals (high priority in eco-conscious California). That's what the new STAR program is designed to do: weed out old vehicles. People bring STAR renewals to me all the time and ask me what the program is. If I was blunt I'd say "If California can't get your car off the road this year, they'll try again in two years and every two years after that."

If older vehicles are exempt, the state has no way to force them to be retired. The state's not going to give up that leverage willingly.

wrencher903
12-11-2013, 09:10 PM
ive got a 92 mighty max 4cyl 2wd. i have no vaccuum to egr. when i probe the first wire
on the harness plug to the solenoid it has power, when i ck the second wire it also has power but the
vacuum begins to work. once i remove the probe (break ground with test light) i loose
vacuum any ideas.

camoit
12-11-2013, 10:32 PM
ive got a 92 mighty max 4cyl 2wd. i have no vaccuum to egr. when i probe the first wire
on the harness plug to the solenoid it has power, when i ck the second wire it also has power but the
vacuum begins to work. once i remove the probe (break ground with test light) i loose
vacuum any ideas.