PDA

View Full Version : After-market Cruise Controls?

Acuta73
05-02-2011, 10:53 AM
Yeah, I've seen a ton of em. Ranging in price from under $100 to well over $400. All say generic application (carb Ok).

So, who's used what and what works well? I'm a spoiled trucker (I may have mentioned this before), I WANT my cruise control! I've found a couple tree and dash controls I like, more worried about the types/styles/brands of the actual unit.

4doorciv
05-02-2011, 07:33 PM
I've never used the aftermarket cruise controls ever. I used the oem ones all the time though. It's weird on my talon cause I see boost, then goes to 0 slowly, then in vac a bit and back to boost.

LethalEthan
05-04-2011, 06:33 PM
my toyota has aftermarket cruise control. Couldn't tell ya what brand though. It works great, i'll look tomorrow and see if I can find a name on it somewhere.

pennyman1
05-04-2011, 07:08 PM
Had one installed on my 1980 back in 1980 - damn thing never worked right. It had a set of magnets strapped to the driveshaft with a sensor to determine speed. Thing would cut out for no reason; found out the installer stuck the power wire under a fuse in the fusebox when I ripped it out of the truck.

dmr8x2
06-20-2011, 02:29 AM
i installed an Audiovox CCS-100 on my 2nd Gen
just hooks up to the tech and a vacuum port
and works great
i mounted the switches in the reces lower left of the steering wheel
switches even light up with the head lights

Acuta73
07-02-2011, 08:50 AM
Buddy at work hooking me up. He has a universal cruise left over from his old Toyota he never installed (vacuum type for carb). And the best part is the price...

FREE!

Just hope it works. lol

Stunner
07-05-2011, 02:14 AM
You can't beat free... unless it's free plus free installation. ;)
I'm hoping to hook mine up with cruise control in the near future, as well.