PDA

View Full Version : weber?

rogueson91
01-27-2013, 06:40 PM
im new to this and the truck lol.. but here it goes my brother called around about the carb in my 87 power ram, and no body and i mean NOBODY wants to touch it just because of the carb thats in it, and they all said to buy a weber conversion kit for...but heres the twist we were able to find someone who rebuilts these carbs and said NOT to buy a weber cause it will blow the motor in 3 months or so, my question is it true???

jpfxB80-50
01-27-2013, 07:30 PM
if the carb is set up correctly(not lean) then it will be 99% better from all I read here. I just ordered a weber for mine and cannot wait to get it running correctly finally. Some of the OG members can tell you better

rogueson91
01-28-2013, 07:14 AM
hmm, well its $400 total for the weber and all the tuning and such with it, or spend $289 to have it rebuilt which the guy said he knows all about them and keeps the og parts to them

DroppedMitsu
01-28-2013, 08:22 AM
Putting a weber on will not do any damage aslong as its tuned correctly. Theweber will get you a little more hp and probably a little better mpg too.

rogueson91
01-28-2013, 11:02 AM
thats what i read, but imma end up keeping this truck for a long time anyway. so what ill do is just have it rebuilt and save up the extra money if i want a weber put on it later down the road, i just know that the carb is the only thing thats wrong with the truck. its a nice lil truck for $700, im trying to fix it up with what extra i get from my check.

pennyman1
01-28-2013, 04:13 PM
I have had a Weber carb on Geronimo for 30 years and he is still running strong. It was tuned by a friend of mine that is a weber expert with exotic cars.

rogueson91
01-29-2013, 08:01 AM
only problem is that ive heard positive and negative things about the weber

camoit
01-29-2013, 09:16 AM